Você está aqui

The Sixth Chakra: Center of Intuition

The Sixth Chakra is also known as the Third Eye and the Ajna Chakra. It is characterized by the union of opposites, intuition, wisdom, clairvoyance, visualizing, fantasizing, concentration, determination, self-initiation, the power of projection, and understanding your purpose.

The shadow side of the Sixth Chakra is confusion, depression, rejection of spirituality, and over-intellectuaIizing.

The Sixth Chakra, or Ajna Chakra, is at the Brow Point. It corresponds to the pituitary gland. The Ajna Chakra is the command chakra. Ajna means "to command." It is here that you reach integrity and integration of the personality.  

It is from the Ajna Chakra that you intuit the direction that you want to go. This is the chakra that is associated with what is called the "Eye that goes beyond the two eyes." The two eyes give you dimension in the normal world. The Third Eye gives you depth, dimension and scope in the subtle worlds.

It is here that the major channels of energy—the ida, the pingala, and the sushmuna, all come together. The three rivers of inner energy meet as one at the Ajna Chakra.

The Sixth Chakra allows mastery over the flow of the mind. It's often represented by light, but it is the inner light. When these channels open and someone has the mystic vision, they say that God is like the light of a billion-trillion bursting suns.

This is also the chakra we can use to master the duality of the mind. The two petals of the Sixth Chakra represent the plus and minus contained in every thought. Anytime the intellect gives you a "yes,” it automatically implies a "no." Anytime it gives you light, it also implies a darkness. To master the Sixth Chakra is to never be confused by any of the polarities of life and to be able to read between the polarities, between the lines.

The duality, the polarity, and the constant dynamic represented by the two petals of the chakra of the Brow Point are even reflected in its physical structures. The pituitary gland that relates to this chakra actually has two parts—the anterior and the posterior pituitary. During human growth, each of the two parts of the physical gland migrate from a different origin, and yet they intertwine. 

When we chant "Ong,” the sound "ng" stimulates the cavity in the skull in which the pituitary rests. When that cavity is vibrated properly, the pituitary gland awakens and triggers a more active relationship to the other key higher gland, the pineal gland.

Yoga Exercises for the Sixth Chakra

Meditating on the Third Eye
Long Chant
Kirtan Kriya
Archer Pose
Whistle Breaths
Yoga Mudra
All exercises where the forehead rests on the floor

Excerpts from the KRI International Aquarian Teacher Training Manual Level 1